Breaking Through

I met him months ago, the executive director of the such-and-such public authority. It’s an authority within my beat; I can’t avoid him.  The first time I called: “I really don’t have the time, Darlin'” and “Why do you want to know that?”

The second meeting was in person. “Hmmph,” he implied, looking me over. Yes, I am female. Yes, I am rather young. No, I am not an imbecile. And I know my questions are exhaustive. That’s the point.

Ackward encounters dotted the next few months.

Then today, I finally broke through. It happened this morning, and I nearly leapt out of my heels. “Well, you sure don’t play, do you?” he asked, laughing. No, I don’t. Then he gave me all the information I needed, absolutely no beef, a few decent quotes and a sense of accomplishment.

“I’ll see you at the next meeting,” he said. “I’ll have my game face on.”

Leave a Reply

